Independent Study in Graphic Design

Jo Ninham

Digital logo development

After the user testing showed the blue circular design to be the most popular. I began to use the logo in the development of the other elements. I found that the logo was simply too busy, there is just too much going on. Therefore, I began to develop the design further.
Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 12.28.24
I thought the best way to do this would be to go back to the designs basics. The two lines that create the knot. I tried the name in different sizes with the knot further apart and wider etc.
Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 12.42.35
I found that this was the best combination. Having the name in the center of the design with the rope/lines around the edge. I didn’t really want everything to overlap as i think that was part of the problem originally.
Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 13.05.55 Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 14.03.25
I also experimented with different colours. I found that the best combination was to have a large contrast between the two ropes and to then have the name as the brightest colour to help it to stand out. I decided that the best way for the logo to stand out on both light and dark backgrounds that it was best to have a slight shadowing colour behind the main logo. The shadowing colour will help to make the logo itself stand out on the different backgrounds.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2015 by in Design Development.
